Top 10 Football Films

I love movies with a passion! But football is my first love, and in honor of the start of the 2016 NFL season I’ve decided to list my personal Top 10 favorite football movies.

To be clear I’m not declaring these films the ten best or even declaring them good films, just my personal favorite. So feel free to share your opinions in the comments below.

10. Jerry Maguire


I went back and forth as to whether or not this movie should be on the list, mainly because I don’t really consider Jerry Maguire to be a football movie, but more of a movie with football in it. Either way I’ve always enjoyed this film and it’s probably better than most of the movies on this list.

9. Friday Night Lights


I was honestly a little disappointed in this movie. It’s certainly one of the best football movies ever made but for some reason I was expecting something different. I never watched the TV show either.

8. Little Giants


Looking back this film leaves allot to be desired. Featuring a rag-tag group of relatable underdogs, it’s kind of a football version of The Sandlot but much less entertaining. However this film’s release coincides with my first season of Pop Warner football, so needless to say I wore out the VHS for Little Giants. Nostalgia is the key for this entry.

7. Invincible 


A Philadelphia underdog finally gets his shot at sports glory. No, not Rocky,  but the true-life incredible story of Vince Papale who became the oldest (non-kicker) rookie in the history of the NFL. This movie in my opinion is a little underrated but definitely not without its faults.

6. The Waterboy


Did Adam Sandler stop being funny or did I just grow up? Maybe it’s a little of both, but this movie is still good for a few chuckles and like Little Giants, nostalgia goes a long way for me with this movie. One of my favorite middle school quotes to recite: “I like Vikki, and she likes me back, and she showed me her boobies and I like them too!”

5. Any Given Sunday

maxresdefault-2

I have such a love/hate relationship with this movie, which is more than I can say for its director. Any Given Sunday consolidates problems spread out across the NFL onto one debaucherous team of douche bags. Still this film has allot of appeal, highlighted by a great cast. While the personal issues are a little over the top, I feel like the business side of pro-sports is accurately portrayed.

4. The Blind Side

15213


This movie would be at the top of most lists with good reason, it’s most certainly one of the best sports films ever made, being nominated for best picture at the 2010 Oscars and earning Sandra Bullock an Oscar for best supporting actress. The true life story of Michael Oher and his adopted family is incredible and this film’s only true problem for me is the portrayal of Michael Oher as a football savant who has never played the game, when in reality Oher had played football for several years before the events in this film.  By the way, Go Panthers #KeepPounding.

3. Rudy


One of the few movies I’m willing to openly admit has brought me to tears and in my opinion a top 5 underdog movie of all time, not sure how impressive that is. Rudy features Rudy Reutigger, a short, stumpy hobbit from a shire called Joliet, Illinois that dreams of playing with a bunch of gigantic Catholic gridiron warriors. Despite the odds and the naysayers in his own family, he spends four years on a practice squad to finally get a chance to play in the closing seconds of a blowout victory. Sounds lame but I promise it’s epic.

2. Remember The Titans

maxresdefault-3


A groovy and soulful vintage soundtrack, a great performance from Denzel Washington and a charismatic cast of characters proves only Disney can make a film about overcoming segregation and racial injustice this much fun. Seriously if you’ve played high school football in the days since the release of this film how are you not disappointed that Denzel Washington isn’t your football coach? Hell, I would’ve taken Cuba Gooding Jr. as Radio over my coach. Screw you Coach Weycker, no I’m not bitter.

1. The Replacements


I know what you’re thinking, how did this movie end up being #1 on your list or any list other than Keanu Reeves football movies. I don’t have a good answer for that honestly, all I know is that I’d be lying to you and to myself it wasn’t in first place. This movie is so silly, goofy and dumb that it still cracks me up to this day. Keanu Reeves plays Shane Falco, an ex-Quaterback for Ohio State whose name could only be more cheesy if he was a character on Starfox 64. A player strike in the fake, movie version of the NFL prompts the league to use Replacement players and Gene Hackman recruits Falco who’s supposed to be down on his luck but lives on a boat in the Baltimore Harbor, pretty fly bachelor pad if you ask me. The characters in this movie are diverse and creative and the interaction between these bozos makes me feel like I’m watching a sequel to the Little Giants but only slightly more mature. Not to mention, I still find most of the cheerleaders pretty damn hot and I’m not sure if I should be embarrassed by that or not. Back me up fellas, or ladies.

Honorable Mentions:

  • Radio
  • Varsity Blues
  • We Are Marshall
  • The Longest Yard (1974)

So what movies did I miss, how outraged are you by my picks? Or did you completely agree? Comment below.

Find me on Twitter @viavhs


3 comments

  1. filmsCine · October 5

    As a Brit, I was confused by the whole “football/soccer” thing for a second .. I was thinking about movies like Green Street and Football Factory 😀

    Like

    • VIA VHS · October 5

      I guess in the future I should say “American Football” wasn’t considering the rest of the world’s population who call Soccer by its appropriate name. Although I do love Soccer/Football as well, especially Premier League. Green Street Hooligans was great!

      Like

    • dbmoviesblog · January 30

      Bend It Like Beckham 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

